🌙 Chakras 101

Updated: Jan 31, 2020

What are Chakras? Chakras are the seven centers in our bodies in which energy flows through. Our chakras can affect us in different ways depending on whether they are blocked, overactive, or perfectly aligned. The seven chakras are: the Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra, and the Crown Chakra. Below, I'll go over each chakra, one by one to give you a better understanding.

Root Chakra: The Root Chakra is located at the base of our central nervous system. The Root Chakra is associated with security, safety, survival, basic needs (food, clothes, shelter, sleep, ect.), and grounding. It provides support in us growing as well as feeling safety and security in all aspects of life. The color of this chakra is red. The crystals that can help heal or open the Root Chakra are: Bloodstone, Tigers Eye, Hematite,Fire Agate, and Black Tourmaline.

Sacral Chakra: The Sacral Chakra is the second chakra and is located below the navel. It is associated with the emotional body, sensuality, and creativity. The function of the Sacral Chakra is directed by the principal of pleasure. This chakra is associated with emotions, relationships, sexuality and pleasure, and creativity. Motivated by pleasure, it is the driving force for the enjoyment of life and emotional satisfaction. The color of this chakra is orange. The crystals that can help heal or open the Sacral Chakra are: Citrine, Carnelian, and Moonstone.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Located in the stomach area is the Solar Plexus Chakra which is probably my favorite chakra. This chakra is tied into intuition. The Solar Plexus is your power chakra and is also associated with self confidence, drive, ambition, healthy ego, and feeling control over your life and destiny. It gives you self confidence as well as self discipline and from that, comes the ability to achieve all goals. The color of this chakra is yellow. The crystals that can help heal or open the Solar Plexus Chakra are: Malachite, Yellow Citrine, Calcite, and Topaz.

Heart Chakra: The Heart Chakra is located right in the center of your chest (not directly where our actual heart is). This chakra is associated with love, compassion, empathy, forgiveness, and transformation. When it is open, you will feel deeply connected with all of the energy that surrounds you. The color of this chakra is green. The crystals that can help heal or open the Heart Chakra are: Rose Quartz, Jade, Green Calcite, and Green Tourmaline.

Throat Chakra: The Throat Chakra lies at the base of the throat. This chakra is associated with expression, communication, projecting ideas into reality, purpose, and timing. The Throat Chakra is all about expression and projecting your creativity into the world. The color of the Throat Chakra is blue. The crystals that can help heal or open this chakra are: Lapis, Turquoise, and Aquamarine.

Third Eye Chakra: The Third Eye Chakra is found on your forehead, just above the area between your eyes. This chakra is one of the most powerful of the seven. It is associated with vision, psychic abilities, insight, and it also motivates inspiration and creativity. Opening your third eye can lead you to discover intuitive sensibility and inner perception. It connects us with a different way of seeing and perceiving things. The color of this chakra is indigo. The crystals that can help open or heal the Third Eye Chakra are: Amethyst, Purple Flourite, and Black Obsidian.

Crown Chakra: The seventh chakra, located at the top of your head is the Crown Chakra. The Crown Chakra is associated with awareness of higher consciousness, realization, and the communication with higher states of consciousness, and presence. The quality of awareness that comes with the Crown Chakra is universal and transcendent. The color of this chakra is violet. The crystals that can help heal or open the Crown Chakra are: Selenite, Clear Quartz, and Amethyst.

Hopefully, you now have a better understanding of each chakra and the purpose that it serves in the physical and spiritual aspects of your life!

722 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The other night, I was reading a book & at the end of one of the chapters, the author asked “so do you understand what your duties & responsibilities are as a black woman?” Which I translated into him

I wanted to talk about Pantheism because it’s something that I notice a lot of people believe, but don’t know the actual word for it. If you’re here, read this with an open mind. Take what resonates &

It’s the new moon in Pisces & although I don’t do moon rituals often anymore, I was called to do one for this new moon. I’ll be out of town - away from all of my spiritual tools (conveniently, in a pl